Justices of the Peace (R.S.S. 1940, c. 95).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and, in addition to limited criminal jurisdiction, have jurisdiction in civil cases up to \$100.

Alberta.—Supreme Court (R.S.A. 1942, c. 129).—The Supreme Court of Alberta consists of two branches or divisions; one is designated the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta and the other is designated the Trial Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta. The Appellate Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Alberta, and four other judges. The Trial Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Trial Division, and five other judges. All judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Appellate Division exercises general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the Trial Division has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters.

District Courts (R.S.A. 1942, c. 121).—There are two district court districts in Alberta, namely, the District of Northern Alberta and the District of Southern Alberta, with a district court for each. The Court of the District of Northern Alberta consists of a chief judge and five other judges and the Court of the District of Southern Alberta consists of a chief judge and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The district courts generally have jurisdiction in all cases where the claim does not exceed \$600 and in criminal, probate and guardianship matters.

Juvenile Courts (S.A. 1944, c. 8).—The Child Welfare Act establishes a Juvenile Court for the Province and every judge of the Supreme Court, every judge of a district court and every police magistrate is ex officio a judge thereof. In addition the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint other persons to be judges of the juvenile courts; 11 such judges have been appointed. A juvenile court has jurisdiction to hear and determine offences charged against children under any statute of the Province and, in addition, is a juvenile court for the purposes of the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Police Magistrates (R.S.A. 1942, c. 134).—Police magistrates have criminal jurisdiction and also jurisdiction in actions for debt not exceeding \$100 and wage claims not exceeding six months wages. One-hundred and three police magistrates have been appointed.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.S. 1942, c. 134).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction. Two-hundred and sixty-two justices of the peace have been appointed.

British Columbia.—Court of Appeal (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 74).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of British Columbia, and four other judges who are called Justices of Appeal. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court exercises general appellate jurisdiction.

Supreme Court (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 73).—This Court-consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and seven other judges who are called Judges of the Supreme Court. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction throughout the Province in civil and criminal matters.

County Courts (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 75).—There are eight counties in the Province with a county court for each county and one or more judges for each county court

All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. Each